Tags

, ,

A Foodie. One Photo. Every Friday.

Photo Friday is back!! And what better way to celebrate it than with a photo toast to autumn?? If I could bottle-up everything that I love about Fall and pour it into a glass, this is what it would look like. Liquid autumnal leaves.

As someone that loves to spend time in the kitchen, I feel that no other season is more inviting than autumn. The hot sunny days of summer repel me from the kitchen. The last thing I want to do is stand over a hot stove, much less turn on the oven. But as the weather begins to chill and everyone is drawn indoors, the true cooking season begins. The benefits of baking, especially, are plentiful. The house is given extra heat from the oven at work, the air is infused with cinnamon and cloves, and then there are the expectant faces eagerly waiting.

With all the baking and cooking comes an increase in caloric intake. We are all susceptible to gain a few extra pounds. Coincidentally, autumn is also my favorite season for running. The weather is absolutely perfect all day. I find that during the summer I only run in the evening, never in full sun (energy-depleter!) During the fall, however, I can go out at any time. This year (thanks to my bestie!!) we’re starting a new tradition, we’re running a Turkey Trot, the Applied Materials Silicon Valley Turkey Trot. So, hopefully we can end the season fitter than when it started!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I see, when I bend close, how each leaflet of a climbing rose is bordered with frost, the autumn counterpart of the dewdrops of summer dawns.

The feathery leaves of yarrow are thick with silver rime and dry thistle heads rise like goblets plated with silver catching the sun.

– Edwin Way Teale

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

What are you doing to celebrate the season??

