Tags

, , , , ,

Seriously Simple Grub-to-Go: Greek Quinoa Salad

Because packing lunch shouldn’t be a hassle! Once I decided to take control of my not too healthy eating habits and change things around, the biggest challenge was putting in the time and effort to pack delicious and nutritious meals. I’m not yet a pro, but I can at least say that I now have quite a bit of experience when it comes to the lunchbox. There’s a little planning involved, and a bit of recipe sifting, but hopefully I can make it a little bit easier on you!!

Prepare Your Grains In Advance

One of the easiest and most efficient thing you can do to make packing a lunchbox a cinch is to make things in advance. I’m not talking a whole meal, we’re all familiar with the dinner left-overs converted into lunch. What I ‘m suggesting is pre-cooking foundation ingredients that will help you put together meals in a snap. For this recipe it’s my go-to-grain: QUINOA, but you can use anything from brown rice to black beans (we’ll explore those in a different post!). I make a giant batch at the beginning of the week, throw it into a container, and store it in the fridge. Now any day of the week I can grab my 1/2 cup serving and literally toss my lunch together. Bonus points: this trick also helps get me out of dinner binds, those lazy nights where I don’t feel like working too hard in the kitchen, my foundation piece bails me out every time!

So now that you’ve made your batch of quinoa, everything else is a breeze, just some light veggie chopping. For me personally, the “night before” is my best friend. I try to pack my lunch the night before so I don’t feel as frazzled or pressed for time in the morning.

Recipe: Greek Quinoa Salad

1 Cup Quinoa

1. Bring one cup quinoa and 2 cups of water to a boil. Reduce heat to simmer, cover, cook for 15 minutes or until all water evaporates.

2. Toss into container and store in fridge. Presto!

Tossing the Salad

1/2 cup tomato chopped

1/2 cup cucumber chopped

3 kalamata olives chopped

1 green onion chopped

1/2 cooked quinoa

3 tbs. feta

a few sprigs of parsley chopped

juice from half a lemon

a drizzle of olive oil

1. In a bowl or container scoop 1/2 cup cooked quinoa. Add chopped tomatoes, cucumbers, olives, feta and parsley. Give it a good stir.

2. Drizzle in the lemon and olive oil. Stir. Seal. Presto.

VARIATION: For a heartier salad I will sometimes add some diced/shredded chicken breast. Yum!! Pair with a serving of fruit and your lunchbox is complete!

What are some of your lunchbox secrets??

