Tags

, , , , , ,

If Athena ate granola, she would munch on this! I’ve been meaning to bake my own granola as I’ve repeatedly read that it was super easy to make. I was inspired by the current abundance of apricots (which in fact get their name from the Greek apraikokion);  the mere vibrancy of their color evokes the sweetness of their honeyed flesh. So, I figured I’d whip up a Mediterranean-inspired recipe featuring their most notable ingredients (Olive oil, honey, Cardammom, Cinnamon, Sea Salt) that will surely infuse your kitchen with their delectable scents!!

To accompany the luscious apricots I incorporated figs, sika in Greek. No Mediterranean dish is complete without a favorite of the Gods, most commonly attributed to Dionysos, who was sometimes known to devour figs almost as much as wine.

I always forget how much I love pistachios until they make a reappearance in my life and then I become obsessed. After all, my favorite flavor of ice-cream is pistachio. Pistachios, fistikia in Greek, along with loads of honey are the key ingredients in the dessert baklava,which cannot be eaten by the plateful! A bowl of Athena’s granola is a much healthier substitution!

Athena’s Granola

Recipe:

3 Cups Old Fashioned Rolled Oats

1/4 Cup Olive Oil

1/4 Cup Honey

 

1/4 Cup Chopped Raw Almonds (referred by the Romans as the “Greek nut”)

1/2 Cup Chopped Pistachios

1 teaspoon Cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon Cardammon

1/4 teaspoon Sea Salt

1/2 Cup  Dried Apricots (a great source of beta-carotene!)

1/4 Cup Dried Figs

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Place rolled oats into large bowl. In a separate smaller bowl combine oil and honey. Slowly incorporate into oats, mix extremely well to make sure everything is nicely coated.

2. Add Almonds, Pistachios, Cinnamon, Cardammom,  and Sea Salt. Mix well.

3. Pour mixture, evenly dispersed onto a baking sheet. Bake for 40 minutes. It’s super important to turn over the granola every 10 minutes.***

4. While granola is baking chop Apricots and Figs, then set aside.

5. Bring out of oven and let cool completely. Return granola to bowl and mix in fruit. Now serve with your favorite yogurt (Fage!!). Enjoy.

