Tags

, , , ,

Hummus? My father’s name is Hummus. Seriously though, I eat the stuff religiously. It’s one of the easiest things to make and you get a ton of it with little input. I use it as a spread on sandwiches instead of mayo, as a dip for veggies, sometimes I’ll even throw some into veggie tacos instead of using beans. Buying hummus can get expensive with how often I eat it, not to mention the varieties at the store use way too much sodium almost rendering the treat unhealthy.

Hummus gets major bonus points for being a complete protein, containing all nine essential amino acids, by incorporating both chickpeas (garbanzo in Spanish) and sesame seeds (through the tahini).

The other great thing is that recipes for hummus aren’t set in stone. You can alter them to suit your tastes. I love adding extra lemon juice in mine for a tart treat. Sometimes I’ll throw in a roasted red bell pepper for added sweetness. Or I’ll be inspired by pesto and I will use basil and pine nuts. Be creative! This recipe will give you a starting point with which to begin!

Recipe:

1 cup uncooked chickpeas OR 3 cups canned

1/2 cup water (preferably from the pot of cooked beans)

1/4 cup of olive oil

2 tbs of Tahini

1 lemon, juiced (I always use two!)

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp paprika

2-3 garlic cloves chopped

salt to taste!

1. I prefer making my hummus completely from scratch, I simply take pleasure in the whole process. SO, I begin by pre-soaking one cup of chickpeas overnight and then cooking for an hour the following day. (It’s also a lot cheaper to buy dried beans than those that are canned, so I tend to bulk up!). If you’re strapped for time 3 cups of canned chickpeas works perfectly!

2. Place the chickpeas in a food processor with 1/2 of water and pulse. For many years I used a blender, it just took slightly longer because I had to constantly turn over the mixture. If it’s all you have, just use your elbow grease!

3. In a separate bowl mix together olive oil, tahini, and lemon juice. Slowly drizzle into the food processor.

4. Sprinkle in the cumin, paprika, garlic, and salt to taste. Mix.

5. Taste. Here’s your big moment. How does it taste? You can add a little more lemon juice. More garlic. Salt. You name it. Alter it to suit you!

6. Serve. Today I decided to simply toast up some whole-grain pita bread for some instant pita chips. Yum!

Yields 4 cups. Now you have enough hummus for two weeks! Store in a jar or share with friends!

