Tags

, , , , , , ,

Some of the most common things I hear when people are trying to healthify their eating habits is the problem with not having enough time to prepare wholesome food and adjusting to the taste of healthier food options. I have solutions for both of those problems!!

First, the biggest secret to a healthy eating habits is that you must put in some forethought and plan some meals and snacks in advance. It sounds so daunting and time consuming, but if you start a little bit at a time you’ll see huge results. I personally think the best place to start is snacks.

Second, you’re more likely to enjoy what you’re eating if it is aesthetically appealing. The great thing is that it doesn’t take that much effort to make something like a juicy strawberry look ravishing. Try to include as many colors onto your plate and immediately you’ll see the difference it makes in your desire to eat your healthified plate. Big bonus: you will also be adding a spectrum of more varied nutrients.

Summer Berries: Any trip to the grocery store or your local farmer’s market and you’ll notice that berries are simply exploding off the shelves and out of baskets. Pick up your favorite variety. For this parfait I chose blueberries and strawberries (only because I had gobbled up my raspberries over the weekend).

Jars: If you’re like me… I have a tendency to keep old jars. I use them to store nuts, legumes, granola, you name it. It adds a beautiful variation to my pantry. Grab a couple of old jars or buy some mason canning jars. For this project I used three 8 oz. mason jars, itty bitty and perfect for an afternoon snack. But you can definitely use a larger size and convert this into a breakfast to-go!

Layering: My all-time favorite yogurt is Fage 0% Fat Greek Yogurt. Start by scooping a couple spoonfuls of yogurt into the bottom of the jar and spread evenly. Next add the first layer of fruit.

Sliced strawberries worked great as a base. Now for the blueberries.

Continue alternating layers of yogurt and fruit until you have just a bit of space remaining at the top of the jar. Sprinkle with granola or chopped almonds. Yum!

Your finished product!! Tell me that doesn’t look simply delish!

Close the lid, and now you have parfaits to get you through a couple of days. Just grab one of the fridge, they’re perfect for the girl-on-the-go! And all it took was just a few minutes of forethought!

